Dirrell was knocked-out on his back when Abraham landed a brutal right foul as Dirrell slipped on a canvas logo in the eleventh round. Abraham was disqualified by referee Laurence Cole.
Rick Reeno also reports that the brain scans are negative, which is always good to hear. On our forum, people question how much impact the knockout will have on Dirrell mentally. I honestly don’t think it’ll have any affect on him what-so-ever. Dirrell didn’t expect the blow, and will probably not be in that situation again where someone crouches over him and lands a blatant foul. I have no reason to believe that Dirrell will be at a slight disadvantage because of Abraham’s cheap shout.
His next opponent is Andre Ward, who first has to defend his new WBA belt against Allan Green on June 19.
Wilfred Sauerland, Abraham’s promoter, has said that he will file a protest over Dirrell’s ‘acting’. The protest will be pushed aside, as anyone in their right minds can see that Dirrell was not messing around on the canvas.